Daily Archives: July 18, 2011

Porsche honours its ten best suppliers-Hella KGaA Hueck & Co. wins first prize

 Sports car manufacturer bestows “Supplier Awards”

Stuttgart/Leipzig. Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG, Stuttgart, honoured last year’s ten best suppliers at the Porsche works in Leipzig.

First prize went to Hella KGaA Hueck & Co. from Lippstadt, which manufactures innovative headlight systems for the sports car manufacturer.

Uwe-Karsten Städter, since April head of the newly created procurement position on the Porsche AG Board of Management said:

“Recent months have been characterized first and foremost by an unexpectedly rapid recovery in the world economy as well as the tragic events in Japan. That the consequences for Porsche have been kept to a minimum is also attributable to the particular efforts of the suppliers.”

To cope with future challenges, Städter called on suppliers to make their company financially weather proof and to continue to bring their expertise and innovation to bear in helping to ensure that Porsche continues to be capable of providing quality and delivery reliability of the highest order. In international studies, the sports car brand constantly excels in terms of its outstanding quality.

The Zuffenhausen company wants to emulate these successes with the new generation of the legendary 911 as well. Supplier partners, responsible for approximately 80 percent of the value creation, have an important role to play in ensuring quality.

“I want to see the new 911 as well right up there in the J.D. Power quality rankings from the very first year”, said Matthias Müller, Chairman of the Board of Management of Porsche AG. “And I am convinced that, together, we will do it.”


In addition to Hella KGaA Hueck & Co, Porsche honored a further nine suppliers with the Porsche Supplier Award 2011 in recognition of their top-notch performance.

In the production material category, they were:

Aisin AW Co., Ltd., Takane, Fujii-cho, Anjo City, Aichi, Japan,

Benteler Automobiltechnik GmbH,Paderborn

Eberspächer GmbH & Co. KG, Neunkirchen

GKN Driveline Deutschland GmbH, Offenbach,

Plastic Omnium Auto Exterior S.R.O., Levallois, France,

Schaeffler Technologies GmbH & Co. KG, Herzogenaurach 

Willi Elbe Gelenkwellen GmbH & Co. KG, Tamm.

Companies honoured in the non-production material category were:

Witron Logistik + Informatik GmbH, Parkstein.

The prize in the logistic services category was awarded to:

BLG Automobile Logistics GmbH & Co. KG, Bremen.


SOURCE: Porsche AG Media Database

Public Relations and Media

Corporate Press


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

200th race in the Porsche Mobil1 Supercup-The highlights of a success story

Porsche Mobil1 Supercup 2011

Stuttgart. The Porsche Mobil1 Supercup has reason to celebrate:

On 24 July,the 200th race of the world’s fastest international one-make series takes off at the Nürburgring. The series has run as support to the Formula 1 races since 1993. Some interesting facts and figures of a success story:

The first race was run on 25 April 1993 as support to the San Marino Grand Prix in Imola. Victory went to Uwe Alzen, who was eventually beaten in the fight for the title by Altfrid Heger.

Uwe Alzen (GER) – Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland – 04 Norisring 2010

The closest title decision came in 1997. Patrick Huisman and Oliver Mathai both had 128 points to their credit. The title went to Huisman who had won three races, whilst Mathai triumphed just once.

Patrick Huisman (l., Champion 1997 – 2000), Alessandro Zampedri (Champion 2005)

Two records were set by Wolf Henzler, the champion of the 2004 season: His nine wins and ten fastest race laps are unrivalled.

Wolf Henzler

He posted pole position eight times, matching Joerg Bergmeister’s record from the 2001 season.

Joerg Bergmeister

The most successful VIP driver was Mika Häkkinen. The eventual two-time Formula 1 World Champion won the Supercup races in Monaco and Budapest in 1993.

The most victories were claimed by Patrick Huisman. To date, the Dutchman has won 24 races – the first in 1996 at the Hockenheim round, the most recent in 2007 at Spa. In 18 races he started from pole-position – more than any other driver. A total of 48 drivers have joined the list of winners from the 199 Supercup races contested so far.

The most titles were also secured by Patrick Huisman. From 1997 to 2000 he was crowned champion four times straight.

Richard Westbrook (Champion 2006, 2007)

Two championships have been clinched by Richard Westbrook (2006, 2007) and Jeroen Bleekemolen (2008, 2009).

Jeroen Bleekemolen (NDL) – Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup Abu Dhabi  2009

As the sole drivers, Dutchman Jeroen Bleekemolen (2009/13 races) and Frenchman Emmanuel Collard (1996/9) climbed the podium at every race of a season. They both took five wins.

The most successful Supercup countries are Germany and the Netherlands, each with six championship titles. Next comes France with three outright wins.

The youngest overall winner was René Rast who was 23 years old when he secured the title in 2010. The oldest was Frenchman Jean-Pierre Malcher: He was 45 when he took home the championship in 1995.

René Rast (Champion 2010)

The most Supercup races were held in Monaco. The Principality hosted the series 19 times, followed by Budapest and Silverstone (18 each) as well as Hockenheim (17). All in all, the Supercup has been contested on 19 race tracks around the world.

SOURCE: Porsche AG Media Database

Public Relations and Media
Motor and Sports Press


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: